In the Kitchen – Miso Wonton Soup

It’s time for installment #3!  We are almost out of this soup.  Guy and I love going to the Japanese Hibachi restaurants – the ones where they have the huge flat top cooking surface and cook your dinner in front of you.  I have always been a fan of the soup they serve before the meal, and for the longest time didn’t know what it was called or how it was made.

Well, now I know!  It’s called miso soup, and miso is a fermented soy paste used in Asian cooking.  The most difficult item for me to find, ironically, was the miso paste!  I have yet to find an Asian market down here, although I know there’s probably several I haven’t located yet, lol.  I found the paste at the Whole Foods in Colleyville, TX, and then located it again at Central Market closer to home.  One bag of the paste gives 20-1 Tablespoon servings, so this will stretch for several makings of this soup, which will be great for those nights I make Asian and want something to go with it.

MISO WONTON SOUP

Courtesy The View From Great Island

Serves 4

28 ounces (about 3 1/2 cups) chicken broth

2 cups water

Approximately 16-20 mini wontons (I found a package of chicken mini wontons at Trader Joes)

2 Tablespoons miso paste

1 baby bok choy, thinly sliced

6 scallions, thinly sliced, white and some of the green parts, too

1 carrot, sliced paper thin

1.  Heat the broth and water to a simmer in a saucepan.  Add the wontons and simmer gently until they are heated through.  This will just take a few minutes.

2.  Add the miso to the soup and stir until dissolved.  Add the veggies and bring the soup back to a simmer.

3.  Serve hot.

This is a terrific quick-to-make soup.  I added a few mushrooms sliced super-thin, since I like those in my miso soup from the restaurant.

Also, here’s a terrific tip for slicing the carrot.  The original recipe says to use the 1/8 inch setting on a mandoline slicer to slice the carrots… I don’t own a mandoline, so that was out, and I wasn’t the craziest about having to carefully slice this carrot with my knife.  It was then that I started thinking about my potato peeler.  Yes, the same one that I used to peel that carrot.  I washed it off, and then started “peeling” super-thin slices off that carrot.  It worked great, and I got the same results that I would have if I’d had a mandoline.

Enjoy!

Categories: Seminary Blog | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

